Building the Continuum

Supporting Formation and Vocation in The Episcopal Church

The Five Marks of Mission

Anglican Communion

Between 1984 and 1990, the Anglican Consultative Council developed Five Marks of Mission, which “have won wide acceptance among Anglicans, and have given parishes and dioceses around the world a practical and memorable ‘checklist’ for mission activities,” according to the Anglican Communion Web site. They were adopted at the 76th General Convention in 2009 (D027) and recommended to be the five top strategic priorities for the Episcopal Church. Program, Budget, and Finance and the Executive Council have been called to center the budget for the 2013-2015 triennium around these strategic priorities.

These statements call us to invite, inspire and transform the church. They are the heart of Christian Formation.

The Five Marks of Mission are as follows:

  1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
  2. To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
  3. To respond to human need by loving service
  4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society
  5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The Five Marks of Mission on YouTube


Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Five Marks of Mission

  1. Pingback: Ministry with Children in The Episcopal Church « Building the Continuum

  2. Pingback: Forming All Generations in Faith: A Position Paper « Building the Continuum

  3. Pingback: Sine die « Building the Continuum

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: